Oyo State Finally Gets Solely Owned University

Indigenes of Oyo State will be very happy as they finally get their own their own, solely owned, state university. The National Universities Commission (NUC) has finally approved the take-off of the Technical University, Ibadan, Oyo State. The Executive Secretary of the commission, Professor Julius Okojie, presented a letter of recognition of the first technical university in Nigeria to the state governor, Senator Abiola Ajimobi, at a brief ceremony in Abuja, at the weekend. The university, according to the governor, is expected to commence academic activities by September 2013.

With this approval, Nigeria now has 125 universities, 50 privately-owned, 38 state-owned and 37 federal universities. Governor Ajumobi, who described the new technical university as unique institution in the country, added that it was designed to accelerate the nation’s technological advancement, while, at the same time, champion the course of national development.

According to the governor, “Oyo state has always been a pacesetter. We started the first university in Nigeria and now we are setting up the first and unique technical university in Nigeria… We already have a location by the Ibadan expressway and the first intakes will start academic activities in September 2013,” he said.